An Open Letter to Life Pacific College Basketball Fans…

Dear LPC basketball fans,

Our team lost last night. It was quite unfortunate as they didn’t finish undefeated in their conference. The loss was in part due to the refs. There were quite a few calls that I did not agree with. There were some things that should have been no calls. I could go on and on about this, but I will save us all the misery. The loss was also in part due to our heavy reliance on the three. We shot many, but quite a few weren’t going in. This doesn’t add up when the other team gets the rebound and scores on the other end of the court. There were other things as well, but this was the most obvious.

I also believe the loss can be due to the fans. I have been to quite a few games at LPC and the cheering is up and down. I understand that the flow of the game has a lot to do with this, but there are other things I have noticed. For one, we only consistently cheer on defense. Now, don’t get me wrong. I strongly believe that defense wins championships, but also as a player I know that hearing the support on both sides of the ball is encouraging. Whether you are just screaming at the top of your lungs, clapping, or chanting it matters. If we want to help our guys, this is one of the best ways to do so.

Another thing I noticed is that many of the fans, that are not in the student section, never cheer until we score. I understand not cheering the whole game, but again every ounce of support matters. I’m probably being nitpicky, but it gets on my nerves. I know that we strive to be more than we are and bigger than we are. We want to provide an atmosphere that scares other teams of coming into our house. We want to have fun. This only happens with true support and more than just showing up.

In the end, I have also seen our crowds blossom from very tiny to large and loud every game. When we first started out, there may have been 30-40 people there. Now, that is merely the size of the student section alone. It is wonderful to see the school embrace the collegiate sports. It is wonderful to see the community that has come out of this integration. Thanks Warriors fans, but don’t be afraid to get a little crazy and cheer!

Sincerely,

A Basketball Fan

Life Pacific College (LPC) is small Bible college in San Dimas, California. They just brought collegiate sports back last year. They currently have women’s volleyball, men’s basketball, men’s and women’s cross country, and men’s and women’s track and field. They are expanding their athletics programs as well as their degree programs. It is a great little school so go check it out! http://www.lifepacific.edu

Leave a Reply

