Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Although I’ve never been a parent, I have seen the pure joy and excitement when a couple finds out they are having a baby. Whether it is their first, third, or tenth, the excitement is still there. You plan out a timeline of when (and how) you will tell people, when you will have a baby shower, when you will register at a store, and where you will have the baby. This is all based on your due date. When that due date is moved up five months, your world is rocked.

On January 3, 2017, Dakota Smith was born to J.R. and Jewel Smith. She was five months early and weighed one pound. This was obviously not in the plan. She is one month and three days old today and it proved to be a very special day. Her daddy held her for the first time. Can you imagine not being able to hold your daughter for over a month, let alone, the first month of her life? I can only imagine how frustrating and depressing this would be. I don’t know the details, but the hill that has been climbed by little Dakota to get to this day has been anything but simple. It is a great accomplishment and I’m sure she loved to cuddle with her daddy.

Even though none of this was in the plan, something else happened that was awful when it happened. On December 23, 2016, J.R. hurt his thumb during one of his basketball games. It was bad enough that he needed to have surgery. Of course, this wasn’t what he wanted, but when his baby girl was born only 14 days later it may have made a little more sense. Instead of being with his team, he was at home already and able to be with his wife as everything happened. He has also been able to spend more time with Dakota during this time. Even though he is itching to get back on the court, as any athlete would, I’m sure he is enjoying the family time. Let’s pray together for J.R., Jewel, Dakota, and her sisters. Lord, give them strength, joy, healing, peace, and everything else you know they need.

Remember that God created you just the way you are and he loves you just as he made you. Psalm 139:13-16 says, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

Leave a Reply

